Taekwondo Grading Belts


Taekwondo Belts - what do you want to know?

White Belt: Signifies innocence, as that of a new student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwondo.

Yellow Tags: Interim stage between white belt and yellow belt.

Yellow Belt: Signifies earth, from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwondo foundation is being laid. 1st pattern.

Green Tags: Interim stage between yellow belt and green belt. 2nd pattern.

Green Belt: Signifies the plant's growth as the Taekwondo skill begins to develop. 3rd pattern.

Blue Tags: Interim stage between green belt and blue belt. 4th pattern.

Blue Belt: Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwondo progresses. 5th pattern.

Red Tags: Interim stage between blue belt and red belt. 6th pattern.

Red Belt: Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away. 7th pattern.

Black Tags: Interim stage between red belt and black belt. 8th pattern.

Black Belt: Opposite of White, therefore signifies the maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo. Also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear. All the patterns. Black belts are then graded from 1st to 9th Degree.



© Copyright Christchurch Olympic Taekwondo
Phone: 03 981 6110, New Zealand

Click here for a site map
Site sponsored by KWON NZL "TOUCH THE SPIRIT"